Your Investment Property forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Help! Newbie to property investment! Sydney or Qld for investing....

Notify me of new replies via email
bronput | 17 Feb 2016, 08:12 PM Agree 0
Hi there,

I am a newbie to property investment. We live in Menai, but currently own a property in Adelaide, and we have the ability to obtain up to about 650k funding.

Do we:

a. Buy an apartment in Sutherland to live for 3-5 years, then rent this property ($575k max for an apartment?)
b. Buy an investment property in Sydneys West (i.e. near penrith) and rent
c. Buy an investment property in QLD and rent

Concerns I have, Sutherland has a low rental yield and overvalued market, but still potential for growth if price is right.
Risky in other markets and potentially less renters

• Cat | 18 Feb 2016, 08:30 AM Agree 0
    Hi there,

I don't know much about the Adelaide market but no a fair amount about the Brisbane, Sydney & Melbourne.

I think there are two ways to look at property -
    1) It is a home for me that doesn't always have to make financial sense because this is where I sleep, raise my family and have my friends over etc
    2) It is a property that I want to earn money from and therefore want the best return on investment for the risk I'm prepared to accept.