Your Investment Property forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

The absolute beginner’s guide to negative gearing

Notify me of new replies via email
Your Investment Property | 16 Apr 2015, 12:00 AM Agree 0
If you’ve always wondered what negative gearing was all about but were afraid to ask, you can now finally make sense of the concept with this easy-to-understand guide by Eddie Chung.
  • blackbenny | 07 May 2015, 04:46 PM Agree 0
    Great article and well set out!
    Think though you may have missed a couple of things in regards to the calculations:
    - the annual interest expense on the loan is $400,000 x 5.5% = $22,000. (so use $22k instead of the $27.5k).
    - when you calculate CGT you need to add back all the depreciation claimed.
  • Pete | 27 Oct 2015, 07:57 PM Agree 0
    A poorly written article that I am surprised YIP has allowed to be published.

An inaccurate set of calculations and foolishly omitted data to calculate the final ROE and profit obtained leads those who "have always wondered what negative gearing was all about" down the garden path and is a disgrace.

Blackbenny highlighted the poor maths and incorrect cost base used for the capital gain by not adding back the depreciation.

Other critical items missed were the closing costs of the purchase (Stamp Duty, mortgage registrations, legal fees) and disposal costs of the property (agent and legal fees). These combined are in the order of 6-8% of the total costs of the property, or $30,000-$40,000.

The article does state "ignoring other incidental costs", but this is highly inappropriate where using calculations to make a comparison on ROE.