Your Investment Property forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

What is an investment property?

Notify me of new replies via email
| 19 Apr 2012, 12:20 AM Agree 0

I have moved from my home into a unit as a result of work. I am renting a unit and it is now my primary place of residence. I am currently renting out my home. What do I need to do to claim the house as an investment? I am new to the investment property concept and am looking for advice regarding what I need to do.
  • Generation M&P | 19 Apr 2012, 04:04 AM Agree 0
    Hi Chris,

I see you are in Brisbane> There is plenty you can do to better prosper from your decision to rent where you live and rent out where you used to live. I am also in Brisbane and if you would like me to spend 30 min with you to discuss your options, please call me 0412 857 415.

Regards
    Jason
  • jeevanswaraaj | 03 May 2012, 12:00 PM Agree 0
    Any property that is purchased with the intent of gaining a return is considered investment property. Investment property can be an apartment building, a duplex, a single-family dwelling, vacant land etc., investment property is purchased with the sole intent of realizing an income, either by renting the property, profiting over time from appreciation, buying low and selling high, or renovating the property and selling it for more than the purchase price.
  • Eos Property | 04 May 2012, 10:05 AM Agree 0
    Hi Chris,

Under the circumstances outlined you can retain your first house as your principle place of residence for a further 6 years after moving out provided you do not buy another home in the interim. This in itself is important as your first home will normally remain CGT free for as long as you own it.